h1

Ducks

8 August, 2008

Today was my last day at work. My ritual humiliation leaving presentation was low in humiliation and high in ducks 🙂

My ducks will always be in a row. I feel much better now.

I will miss

  • Pair programming
  • Collecting amusing business metaphors
  • Talking nonsense about K’nex, punchcards and nine-dimensional objects

I will not miss

  • Lotus Notes
  • Trying to sound awake and intelligent at 8 in the morning. 8am!!!
  • That ‘groundhog day’ feeling from seeing the same people on the commute every day. The same guy stopped in the same layby for a last cigarette. The same van with the same broken brakelight. Realising they probably think the same about me.
3 comments

  1. […] of geeks (software, hardware, electronics, physics, maths…). When I announced that I was leaving for Dublin, Rhys said “Aha! You should go to Broome Bridge!” This is where, walking and […]


  2. […] none of which I want to cut down on.) And as for my brain melting, I’m sure when I was a Real Person I used to manage more than that on a daily basis. Here’s hoping I’m right about the […]


  3. […] Preemptive Terrible Dad Joke: yes, TOG has its ducks in a row. Actually, that is a lie: we don’t have enough room to line up that many ducks. Also, we are […]



Leave a Reply

