h1

The bank

22 August, 2008

I may have an Irish bank account. Or I may not. I may also be under suspicion of international money laundring. My proof-of-address letter, with the right dates and exactly the right wording, took four attempts to get right (that’s four iterations of trekking to Engineering, pestering Angela for a letter, trekking back to the bank, queuing up, arguing with them about it and being rejected). I should hear on Monday whether it worked. I am not hopeful.

Getting a PPS, on the other hand, just involved a trip to Dublin and an hour’s queueing. The Personal Public Service number is the Irish National Insurance number equivalent.

3 comments

  1. Banks suck! Were having no end of trouble with ours at the moment.


  2. Personal Public Service sounds like some sort of enforced labour camp.


  3. […] I went to UL to try to register. Unfortunately, the forms and letters I need for this have been posted to my nerdcave in Dublin, so I have to wait for them to turn up and bring them back again. This is all horribly familiar. […]



Leave a Reply

