h1

It’ll be fine…

21 November, 2008

I have an exam on Data Mining on Tuesday, so naturally I am revising hard.

That is, of course, an outright lie.

Things Becky Has Been Doing Instead Of Revision:

  • tweaking the Firefox extension
  • going to see James Bond*
  • writing Java code for my PhD
  • writing Java code for other people’s PhDs
  • playing with Linux
  • trying and failing to set up some civilised networking in my house
  • listening to Pink Floyd
  • looking for foxes
  • arguing about the nutritional value of popcorn
  • booking a snowboarding holiday
  • tidying my office and trying to track down the owners of all the books, with some success
  • drinking quantities of tea that would surprise even Abi
  • and, of course, writing this blog

* verdict: James Bond doesn’t appear to be having any fun anymore. Not even when he has scored a swanky cocktail, shiny car or attractive woman; he still looks miserable. What’s the world coming to?

6 comments

  1. Does this mean we will finally find out who the mystery BDSM Accountant is?


  2. I promise that if I scored a swanky cocktail, shiny car *or* attractive woman I would make efforts to look happy. Silly boy.

    How much tea? Had new-friend-Jennie over yesterday for tea trials. You were thought of and would be proud of the science. We tried each different variety in several strengths and with/without milk and sugar.

    Lack of internets at home didn’t last, then?

    And why were you coding for other people’s PhDs?

    Realised yesterday that I haven’t spoken to you in ages and that is rubbish.

    Also watched Dr Horrible for the first time in ages. Awesome πŸ™‚


  3. Okay. I’ve been reading about data mining. I don’t get it. I am a little drunk but… I don’t get it. Gah.

    Also, wanted to tell you that I’m making my brother your brownies for his birthday as a (cheap) birthday surprise – fab recipe, ta v muchly πŸ™‚


  4. Hello new-friend-Jennie! What did you conclude regarding the tea?

    I *like* coding πŸ™‚ I miss pair programming but am currently in negotiations to get a regular fix. The negotiations involve cat-licking diagrams.

    Hmm, data mining in 10 words: get data, clean data, look for patterns using mostly statistics.

    Mmm brownies. Mmm white chocolate brownies. Mmm also Howell’s Surprisingly Orange Flapjacks. (Now then; Data Mining presentation preparation, or flour-covered procrastination? Decisions decisions…)


  5. Yay! Cat-licking diagrams! Went to a lecture yesterday with a cultural studies lady who is questing to find a new language to discuss the social changes that the internets have brought to our lives because she isn’t happy with the discursive (probably kind of Marxist) terminology currently available. This is apparently the New Cool Thing in cultural studies… academia is a bit slow on the uptake, but is now charting (in retrospect) the changes that the internets have made to our lives. These are things I’ve been thinking about for a while. As, I suspect, has everyone else. Ho hum.

    But she was talking about AmigaBASIC and I thought of you πŸ™‚ I liked the content and even the loose goal for her research, but I felt she was making a ‘them’ of people who spend time making and discussing and building communities for 8-bit music or short stories and being a bit… judgemental. Not cool. If you aren’t participating in these things you will not see that their awesomeness is made up of more than their individual parts.

    But still, got to listen to 8-bit and call it work πŸ˜€


  6. Oh, and the tea. She is not about the green tea or the Russian Caravan but is more than happy with a slightly milky English Breakfast with or without sugar.

    And with biscuits.

    My work here is done…



Leave a Reply

