h1

Dangerous ideas

2 March, 2009

My Information Visualisation coursework is done and handed in. Mangling 12Gb of data with awk was deliciously easy. Mmm awk.

On Saturday I intended to go windsurfing, but having ended up seminocturnal as usual* I missed the 10am start. This is getting annoying now. I have been reading up on polyphasic sleep. It doesn’t sound like it could possibly work, but the purported benefits are very tempting. Is it dangerous? Nobody is really sure. I have another 9-5 intensive course coming up, so I have a few weeks to reconsider (or for you to convince me not to try this…)

Sunday was bizarre. I woke up full of enthusiasm for the day, went shopping and bought a pair of running shoes. I’m not quite sure what came over me. They are box-fresh and ridiculous-looking, but that is the nature of running shoes. Ah well, they’ll get covered in mud quickly enough around here.

* I now know this to be called ‘free-running sleep’: that is, the eminently sensible go-to-sleep-when-tired-and-get-up-when-awake. Trouble is, this cycle tends to take about 28 hours and is frequently interrupted by Real Life.

3 comments

  1. […] They’re chasing you! Run! My housemates and I had agreed to go running tonight, so I’d been psyching myself up all day. One by one they made their excuses, but it […]


  2. […] sleep pattern. More of a siesta++, really; a useful compromise between Normal Person Sleep™ and Typical Becky Sleep™. I have discovered that it’s much less painful to get up at 7am if you know you get to go […]


  3. […] Dangerous Idea The latest Dangerous Idea is barefoot running. This is just what it sounds like: running about without any shoes […]



Leave a Reply

