h1

+1 to Nerdiness

14 May, 2009

Traditionally, there are some things you have to take sides on. Geek or nerd? vi or emacs?* Star Wars or Star Trek**?

I went to see the new Star Trek movie. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It is deliciously geeky. And Simon Pegg is in it and quite clearly having a great time. You can almost see the thought bubble: “squee, I’m in Star Trek!” 🙂

What does this mean? Should I now reconsider the whole Trekkie thing? Would that be… logical?

* And let’s not start on the whole brackets thing, eh? 😉

** Seriously, though, would you rather have a phaser or a lightsaber? 😉

4 comments

  1. Geek

    Vi (although to be fair I haven’t really used emacs as it scares me)

    And as for brackets….

    {
         stuff
         {
              more stuff
         }
    }
    

    Surely? I do it like that for ease of readability.


  2. Ah, my fake tab-stops get the white space stripped when parsed. How irritating. Does wordpress allow code for tab stops?


    • The ‘pre’ tag will do the trick. Though you may have inadvertently kicked off the tabs-vs-spaces debate too. *sigh*


  3. Looking at the trailer, the film looks quite impressive. Like Star Trek, but not as we know it…



Leave a Reply

