h1

Open the pod bay doors, HAL

25 May, 2009

Charlie and I went to see 2001: A Space Odyssey at the Irish Film Instutite. The film was introduced by Keir Duella (he played David Bowman, as in: “I’m sorry Dave, I’m afraid I can’t do that”). He spoke about Kubrick and how the special effects were created without computers: in 1968, if you needed someone eating upside down, you either turned the set upside down or just wired them to the ceiling with the food glued on. He also mentioned that in the bone->spaceship cut, the spaceship represented a nuclear weapon orbiting the Earth: the cut is from the earliest weapon to the latest.

It’s a weird film. Much weirder than I remembered.

Seeing it on the big screen lets you look around and enjoy all the details. Sadly, the 70mm print has seen better days. It doesn’t help that Flix has scarred me for life and left me wincing at every splice šŸ˜‰ Curse you, Flix!

Leave a Reply

