h1

The Tourist Effect

3 September, 2009

Abi visited me. “Prepare to be rained on!” I warned her. But barring some token drizzle on the first evening, it was sunny and dry throughout her visit. “What rain?” she asked.

My parents visited me. “Prepare to be rained on!” I warned them. But, other than a token rainbow as we rolled off the ferry, there was barely a drop of rain all week. “You’re making it up” they mocked.

Not only is the Irish climate relentlessly soggy, it is conspiring to make me appear foolish to my nearest and dearest! I am not impressed. Though I concede that me looking foolish is better than them getting drenched.

One comment

  1. Hmm, same here. Despite dark warnings from met.ie, parents visit: hardly any rain. Architect friends visit: only one minor downpour. Welsh visitors all conclude: “What _are_ you whinging about?”

    Top tip for the rainy season: forget the umbrella. Carry a tourist 🙂



Leave a Reply

