h1

Clear for takeoff

9 February, 2010

You turn your back for five minutes and ten years go by. The DVLA demanded that I renew my licence, which makes it a decade since I got my (distinctly unenthusiastic) hands on a provisional licence and almost as long since I was holding up the Crawley* traffic with turns-in-the-road and reversing-around-corners**.

When my shiny new licence arrived, I found the following categories in the provisional section:

A: ride a large motorbike
B+E : drive a car with a trailer
GH: not listed anywhere in the accompanying booklet

What is GH? With a moment’s thought, it’s obvious: it’s my provisional entitlement to drive a flying car ๐Ÿ˜€


* Never going back there as long as I live. It’s awful.

** Neither of which, of course, are actually of much use. I guess it’s the thought that counts.

4 comments

  1. The truth is actually almost as good. A ‘G’ licence is for road-rollers and an ‘H’ licence is for vehicles with tracks instead of wheels.

    You are provisionally entitled to drive a steamroller ๐Ÿ™‚


    • Awww, the DVLA is case-insensitive after all? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I suppose a provisional tank licence is reasonable compensation.


  2. For a moment there, I was about to leap to the defence of Crawley, then I realised: nope, wrong concrete disastrophe … ๐Ÿ˜‰


  3. Shame that the Space Shuttle is being retired this year – you’re probably entitled to drive that! On a more earthly note, however, if you’ve can get the tank, I can provide the radio… http://www.tibblestone.com/oldradios/militaryradio/19set_restoration.htm



Leave a Reply

