h1

CQ, CQ

18 June, 2010

I am currently ploughing through a library book entitled “Software Design – Cognitive Aspects“. It’s software from a cognitive psychologist’s point of view, it’s translated from the French, and it’s hard going. But I can put up with that. What bothers me is that a previous borrower has pencilled in intriguing comments throughout the chapter I’m most interested in (including “think back to Pennington” and “have your cake and eat it” and “PAPER!”) and I have no way* of finding out who this person is.

Pennington. Did I put that in the To Read Now or the To Read Later box?

Who are you, Mystery Book Scribbler?

If there are other people in UL interested in program understanding, I want to talk to them. What if I left a note** with my contact details in the book? Or wrote on the bit of paper where the dates go (on the basis that that is somewhere in the book where one can scribble? It’s all electronic these days, nobody bothers to stamp dates there any more). Would I get emails from researchers in other departments? Other universities? Or just angry messages from librarians telling me to stop doing this?

What if there was an extra piece of paper in every book dedicated to it? Has this been tried?


* I assume that, quite rightly, the librarians won’t tell me who borrowed it before me.

** not a Post-It, mind.

2 comments

  1. “What if I left a note** with my contact details in the book?”

    I have a feeling that Soviet spies used this method during the cold war. You might get some rather odd responses…..


    • The Soviet spies were researching program understanding too? šŸ˜‰

      Hmm, ok. So I should leave a note that says ‘hi, I’m Becky, blah blah blah, P.S. I am not a Soviet spy’. That should do the trick, right?



Leave a Reply

