Permanently Deleted28 September, 2010
After you do this:
You receive an email like this:
Hi Becky,<BR><BR>We have received a request to permanently delete your account. Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. <BR><BR>If you did not request to permanently delete your account, please login to Facebook to cancel this request:<BR><BR>http://www.facebook.com/login.php<BR><BR><BR>Thanks,<BR>The Facebook Team
I guess this happens infrequently enough that they’re not too worried about the formatting.
After a few days, the feeling that Facebook agents were going to kidnap and interrogate me started to subside. People warned me that Facebook would instead try to guilt trip me into logging in (“Are you sure you want to leave Facebook? <insert friend name here> will miss you!”). This doesn’t happen.
A Chinese friend was surprised that I’d want to leave when access to a Facebook account is a privilege not available worldwide. That’s an interesting perspective.
Two weeks passed. I didn’t log in. And lo, my account is gone. I didn’t expect it to be so easy…