h1

Money Bag Challenge

18 June, 2011

Thanks to TOG’s participation in the wallet-themed hackathon, there is one less project on my Shelf of Shame 😀

Gratuitous TOG propaganda shot.

Challenge complete.

This wallet is the same design as my duct tape wallet, but is made of the plastic circuit from inside a keyboard*.

Security through opacity?

Yes, this wallet is entirely see-through.

I was not sure how to make a fastener:

  • Magnets? Neat and effective, but also liable to erase all my photocopying credit.
  • Poppers? I did that last time; they didn’t last.
  • Velcro? The velcro would be stronger than the wallet.
  • CAT5 and connector? IDE cable and connector? I played around with various configurations but couldn’t find one I liked for a wallet this small. That idea can go back on the shelf for some other project.
In the end I settled on the piece of elastic, which doesn’t fit the theme so well, but does at least keep my money in my wallet. Until I spend it all in TOG’s tuckshop, of course.
I have both British and Irish donor cards. Yes, I really mean it.

Holding up so far.

The hackathon continues tomorrow, and at least two others are also working on wallets.

UPDATE: chebe finished her wallet. Hers is RFID-shielded, LED-lit and raptor-fuelled 😀


* which I have been carrying around in my craft box, from house to house and from country to country, since Ed of the clan Flix gave it to me in 2008.

One comment

  1. […] the addition of some rainbow ribbon cable, my wallet is completed*: Six months of use and it's holding […]



Leave a Reply

