h1

Sealamp

7 August, 2012

The Man burns in 25 days. I have costumes to make, a Wisdom Exchange to build, and two chapters of my thesis to write before I go.

“I know,” I thought to myself, “this would be a great time to finish that seaglass lamp project I started in 2009.”

That was three houses ago, too.

Prototype, 2009

Drilling a hole in a glass jar is one of those things that doesn’t seem like it could possibly work, but by far the strangest part of the procedure is just before the drilling, where you gently tap the bit into the glass* to make a starting dent.

Does drilling holes in a jar at midnight make a sound if there's no-one around to hear it?

This takes about half an hour.

Note the duct tape holding the jar to the workbench. This is the second jar I tried to drill. I originally had a nice cookie jar for the project, and I put it in the vice to hold it still, and it shattered into a million pieces.

That milky liquid? Water, for cooling, mixed with glass dust.

Success!

The light source is a bit of LED strip left over from Charlie’s lamp project, spiralled around a bit of broom handle from Basement #1. It’s protected by a clear tube (the packaging from a ‘build-your-own-buckyball” kit present) and powered by a power supply from TOG‘s Free Shelf.

Filling it with seaglass was particularly satisfying.

Nearly done.

Most of the seaglass was collected from Seapoint, Dublin and Fort Bragg, California.

Yes, that is a Lemming in the background.

Difficult to photograph.

Project complete.

Look closely: there's a tiny bit of pink in there.

Top view

Right then, what was I supposed to be doing?


* Now I have this line from Stig Of The Dump running through my head:

“You couldn’t hammer glass flat, could you? He picked up a boot scraper. No, of course not.” – Barney, on making a window out of jamjars

Such a great book. I can still smell the rain on the nettles in that dump, and feel the flakes of rust under my fingertips, but best of all are the descriptions of the mental processes of making stuff out of things.

One comment

  1. […] what if all you have is a set of glass-drilling bits? What […]



Leave a Reply

